Peace kisses the mountains


10525807_10202571920763669_5090270850920648966_n

 

Memorial Two is coming up, to put the rest of Kevin to rest, high in a mountain like the Indian natives there, to rest in the dust with many who fought, lived and died on that mountain. On hidden cannonballs, on green places which now cover the blood of 40,000 men. I hope each ashy spec raises lost souls there, like a kiss from heaven, from a man who loved this land above all others.

I’m from the green oceans of the plains, so I’ll part with him there, noting one of our few differences – his preference of heights and danger, mine of rolling, modest hills, far from fancy places.

1936496_1103666396300_5337681_n

From our honeymoon. My eyes were red from crying – I was terrified he’d fall while on the mountains. Similar to Kevin’s first memorial, this second one will be nearly five years to the day of this photo.

During our honeymoon he wanted to climb the peaks in the barren South Dakota badlands. I panicked and pleaded for him to climb back to the touristy roped-off pathways. I thought he would die there and imagined bloody abrasions, and I sobbed until we sped off for over an hour, confused as to why I would react that way. I had no idea at the time why it bothered me so much. Now I think I was given the gift to grieve at odd times, so I could inhale now.

My posts will be happier, I promise. I don’t care to revisit the ache, nor do I wish to have what’s left leave, but this last, poignant action is our duty to him. It was his wish, and so we go.

1936496_1103680156644_5433347_n

Taken in the Badlands.

Two songs that remind me of Kevin now:

 

 

I’M FREE- I’m free,
And freedom tastes of reality,
I’m free-I’m free,
AN’ I’m waiting for you to follow me.

If I told you what it takes
to reach the highest high,
You’d laugh and say ‘nothing’s that simple’
But you’ve been told many times before
Messiahs pointed to the door
And no one had the guts to leave the temple!

I’m free-I’m free
And freedom tastes of reality
I’m free-I’m free
And I’m waiting for you to follow me.

 

One thought on “Peace kisses the mountains

  1. This post is beautiful…and very very courageous. I’m so very fortunate to know you and deeply proud of who you are.. Keep God close. Keep taking just one step at a time. Your new life is beckoning.

    Have a safe and peaceful time this coming week. May the peace of God permeate every moment of your journey.

    I love you.. Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

