I’m Free


Sorry for the double post Facebook friends, but I wanted to log this into the blog so I can reread it later.

I’ve heard it said that music connects to heavenly realms easier because, being non-physical, it can be shared spiritually. An interesting idea. I walked Joey yesterday, listening to my ipod, begging Kevin to communicate to me through music, asking how he’s doing – I figured I’d give it a try, even with my uncooperative ipad that usually annoys me with Christmas music. Even though I’m pretty technically-inclined, I can’t seem to program it right from itunes no matter what. So, quite surprised, here is the first song that played after that request. I have The Who on my playlist, but this song NEVER plays. Listen to the words – pretty cool:

While I love The Who, generally I “star” and skip to newer music I just purchased, and tried to design a playlist of my favorite songs. The annoying Christmas music in July were among purchased songs, which is probably why they play most often – something that drives me nuts when it’s not snowing!

For statistic geeks, here’s a look at how the shuffle algorithm works – which makes this even more odd, because I haven’t favorited The Who or their songs, don’t intentionally listen to them, nor do their songs often play on shuffle.

The shuffle algorithm actually has variables that prevent it from being truly random. It’s supposedly like genius, and I believe this is true. The shuffle will take all the songs you want to shuffle and attempt to pick songs of opposing “values”. Let’s say you have an album of 10 songs:

Track 1 : 7 plays.
Track 2 : 0 plays.
Track 3 : 14 plays.
Track 4 : 22 plays.
Track 5 : 4 plays.
Track 6 : 9 plays.
Track 7 : 1 play.
Track 8 : 25 plays.
Track 9 : 15 plays.
Track 10: 29 plays.

The shuffle looks at the amount of plays you have, and attempts to pick (at random) a song of high plays, and a song of low plays. Now, effectively, it’s trying to get you to listen to songs you haven’t heard with ones you have. Another thing it looks at is the most recently played. Let’s say you heard Track 7 once, but it was over 3 months ago, and Track 5 was heard only 30 minutes ago. Track 7 automatically is higher target because of low song count and oldest song heard, making it prime to pick after a song like Track 10, which was just heard.

The other portion of the algorithm is supposed to be based on artist and albums. If an artist has a high track count (45 songs out of a possible 200), obviously it has a higher chance to get picked. The chances improve based on those tracks play counts in comparison to the rest of the library.

This actually tells me my ipod would be less likely to play The Who, since these are not played more than the others. In fact, I can’t even tell you the last time “I’m  Free” played on my ipod. I tend to prefer the Overture best anyway, and even that rarely plays. A very cool day to hear this!

Leave a Reply

