Bless the broken road


photo

I hung this angel in our window years ago. Coincidentally, it now rests above Kevin’s headboard on his hospital bed. The light in the background is from a ceramic shade and light he created, which casts neat shapes everywhere.

As I watch Kevin sleep and sleep, oxygen going, in our dining room. He wakes easily, but then quickly drifts to sleep. I kiss him. I ask him, “Who loves you?” and he says, “You do.” and I tell him he is surrounded by love – with children, friends and family. I say,  “everyone loves you”.

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.13.57 PM

The proud graduate I would have gladly dated.

Kevin and I often talk about the years we missed before we knew each other. We immediately identified with the song “Bless the Broken Road” – it became our song. We’d sing it, play it and when we went out for karaoke as we occasionally did there for awhile, I’d sing it to him, and tears would run down his cheeks.

I want to sing it to him, but don’t think I can make it without crying.

Rice was kind enough to scan a bunch of photos she had of Kevin, back when he was just an inspiration, a thought or hope of someone I would someday meet.

I set out on a narrow way, many years ago.

Hoping I would find true love along the broken road. But I got lost a time or two. Wiped my brown and kept pushing through. I couldn’t see how every sign pointed straight to you.

Every long lost dream led me to where you are. Others who broke my heart were like northern stars, pointing me on my way into your loving arms, this much I know is true: that God blessed the broken road that led me straight to you.

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.14.51 PM

The kind of sweet dad I wanted for my children.

I think about the years I spent just passing through. I’d like to have the time I lost and give it back to you. But you just smile and understand. You’ve been there – you understand. It’s all part of a grander plan that’s coming true.

Every long lost dream led me to where you are. Others who broke my heart were like northern stars, pointing me on my way into your loving arms, this much I know is true: that God blessed the broken road that led me straight to you.

Now I’m just rolling home into my lover’s arms – this much I know is true – that God blessed the broken road that led me straight to you.

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.18.02 PM

A man happy to be a dad, doting and tender.

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.13.29 PM

The geeky teen I always wished I had known.

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.17.19 PM

The in-laws I wish I knew (but I dreamed of his dad)

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.17.47 PM

The senior I would have gotten in trouble dating (lol because I was only in 7th grade at the time!)

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.15.07 PM

A doting dad, and hot too!

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.15.47 PM

A kid I would have climbed trees with.

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.18.23 PM

He went on to raise three kids on his own – a single dad, who had to learn how to do it all.

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.18.47 PM

A future democrat! A sweet, happy boy who grew up to be a laughing, happy man.

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.14.40 PM

Loves his beer!

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 9.16.03 PM

Kevin and his sisters, who have been so emotionally helpful through all of this.




Leave a Reply

