Am I crazy for being an entrepreneur?


Are you thinking “Hmmm. Should I start my own business?” How do you know if it’s a good idea? What are the next steps you need to take?

I actually thought about writing a book about this. There are numerous books about the marketing, planning and stuff you need to do to start a biz, but nothing I could find in the way of encouragement and the emotional how-to’s. So, here are a few things I learned about myself. I don’t learn fast – some of these things took decades. See if they help:

How do you know you’re an entrepreneur? Click here to read a good blog post about it from PEHUB

Come to the realization you are an entrepreneur

Accept it. It has taken me many ill-fitting, conformist jobs to make me realize I’m best as an entrepreneur. As an employee, I sat during meetings, scribbling business ideas I had, and jotting mini business plans, completely consumed with my thoughts. Plus, I was far too outspoken & idea-oriented for my own good.

Some people prefer the predictability of being an employee. Many people do, and I admire them. For the sake of my family, I have tried to be a corporate person, to keep good insurance, car payments and less financial drama from the ups & downs of self employment – but low risk is not a good fit for me. I loved the people I worked with throughout the years, however I’m sure they did not always love working with me!

While I remain good friends with former coworkers and executives I’ve admired over the years, I’m in my element as a business owner. It just feels right. I wake up delighted – every single day. There are days I am absolutely petrified, yet happy because it’s a wonderful, challenging battle. It has taken me many years to realize not everyone has this nerve, courage, faith — or perhaps stupidity (LOL) to leave security behind, trust in your own ideas and just go for it.

I have also learned intuition is what you follow. That took me a long time to learn. I learned it from being a mom. Trust your intuition. It applies in business and will save you a whole lot of money and problems if you follow it.

Leave a Reply

